Fighting Your Traffic Infraction Allegations
Connecticut law makes it clear that all drivers are required to carry auto insurance. The minimum liability car insurance is $20,000 for bodily injury per person per accident ($40,000 for bodily injury total per accident) and $10,000 per accident for property damage. Despite this requirement, law enforcement hands out tickets all the time to drivers who can’t provide proof of insurance or who are caught driving without insurance.
Driving without insurance means two things: if the driver gets into an accident, he or she can be held both criminally and civilly responsible for any injuries and other damages he or she causes, and even of the driver doesn’t cause an accident, he or she can still be penalized for breaking the law.
If you have been cited by law enforcement for driving without insurance, you may benefit from having an experienced attorney on your side.
Penalties in CT for Driving Without Insurance
You could face the following penalties for driving without insurance:
- Fines ($500 for the car owner and up to $1,000 for the car owner)
- License and registration suspension
- Jail time (if your driving history is particularly bad)
- Reinstatement fees
If you’re like most people, your ability to drive is extremely important, and anything that threatens your driving privileges could cause significant inconvenience. If you have found yourself in this situation, we encourage you to contact The Sills Law Firm for a free evaluation of your case. It may be in your best interest to retain a Connecticut criminal defense attorney to fight your ticket. When you contact our firm, we can review the facts leading up to your ticket and determine whether there are any potential defenses that may apply to your case.
Traffic Ticket Lawyers Serving All of Connecticut
The Sills Law Firm puts more than 20+ years of combined experience to work for Connecticut residents accused of all types of crimes, from minor traffic offenses to serious felonies.