Call To Set Up Your Free Consultation 844.913.7747
Your Connecticut Criminal Defense Team
We Won’t Let One Mistake Determine Your Future!

License Suspension in CT

Defense Attorney for DUI & License Suspension

One of the most well-known penalties that results from DUI is the suspension of your driver's license. If you are pulled over by law enforcement and either refuse to submit to a breathalyzer test or fail one, your license will be immediately suspended. After this, if you are convicted of a DUI, you may also face an additional license suspension.

The right to drive a motor vehicle is often taken for granted until it is taken away. You need to be able to drive your automobile to go to and from work, perform the functions of your job, take your children to school, and other daily activities. If you are facing the possibility of a license suspension, our Connecticut DUI attorneys can take on your case and fight to either reduce the suspension time or retain your driving privileges altogether.

Tell us about your case during a free consultation. We have offices conveniently located throughout Connecticut.

Call (844) 913-7747 Today!

What are the Penalties of a License Suspension?

The following are the license suspension penalties you face for a first-time offense:

  • 45-day suspension, followed by a 6 month IID Requirement for failing a breathalyzer test with a BAC above.08% provided you are over 21 years of age
  • 45-day suspension followed by a 1 year IID Requirement for failing a breathalyzer test with a BAC above.02% provided you are under 21 years of age
  • 45-day suspension followed by a 1 year IID Requirement for refusing to submit to a breathalyzer test regardless of age

Aside from the license suspensions for first-time offenses or refusals, repeat offenders or refusers are subjected to increased IID duration. These consequences will impact your insurance rates, ability to retain employment, and the everyday functions of normal life.

Driving on a Suspended License

It can be very tempting for people to drive on a suspended license; however, when they do they are breaking the law. The basic penalties for driving on a suspended license include a fine up to $200, or up to 90 days in jail, or a fine and imprisonment.

Repeat offenders face stiffer penalties. If it’s a second or subsequent violation, a repeat offender faces a fine up to $600, or up to one year in jail, or both. However, if the offender’s license was suspended because of an alcohol-related offense, the law imposes stiffer penalties against the accused.

Helping You Retain Your Driving Privileges

Fortunately, there are legal processes by which you can contest and appeal suspensions, and even methods for obtaining a permit to be able to drive to and from work, and during the course of employment. Our Connecticut DUI lawyers at Tomeo Sills, LLC can help you understand the options available in your case, and will explore all routes that may help you reduce suspension times or completely keep your driving privileges.

Give our office a call to learn more about how we can assist you with your license suspension case.

Trust Us With Your Defense

  • Seasoned

    We have more than 64 years of combined legal experience.

  • Accessible

    We have 6 office locations for the accessibility of our clients.

  • Experienced

    Our attorneys have experience from both sides of the courtroom.

  • Published

    We are authors of multiple books & we are seen as leaders in the field.

  • Determined

    We have a small firm care combined with large firm results.