If you are convicted of driving under the influence in Connecticut, the potential consequences are far-reaching. In addition to potentially going to jail, you will be required to pay a significant fine. You will also lose your driving privileges for 45 days; your license will be revoked for a third or greater conviction.
Fortunately, even if your license is revoked due to DUIs, you may be able to get it back. To restore your license after a DUI suspension, you will need to fill out an application, get insurance, and pay the applicable fees. If your license has been revoked, then you will need to go to a DMV license restoration hearing before you can get your license back.
At The Sills Law Firm, we work hard to help our clients achieve the best possible outcome for their cases – including getting their license back after a DUI. We offer free consultations for all prospective clients. Reach out today to learn more about how we can help you get your license restored after 1 or more DUI convictions in Connecticut.
How Long Will My License Be Suspended If I Get a DUI in Connecticut?
In Connecticut, if you are convicted of or plead guilty to driving under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol (DUI/OUI), then your driver’s license will be suspended. The length of the suspension will be based on several factors, including whether you have a prior DUI conviction within the past 10 years (the “lookback” period).
Initially, your license will be administratively suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) if you either fail or refuse a chemical breath, blood, or urine test. This occurs automatically and lasts 45 days. You can challenge this administrative suspension and go to a DMV hearing with the help of a Hartford DUI attorney.
If you are convicted of a DUI, then a mandatory driver’s license suspension will be part of your sentence. For drivers aged 21 or older, the suspension will be for 45 days. After a third or subsequent DUI offense, your driving privileges will be permanently revoked.
Towards the end of your license suspension period, you can apply to have your driver’s license restored. In the case of a permanent revocation for 3 or more DUI convictions, you will have to wait at least 2 years from the revocation date to request a reconsideration hearing.
If you have been charged with driving under the influence in Connecticut, a license suspension or revocation is just one of the potential consequences. For this reason, it is critical that you consult with a CT DUI lawyer as soon as possible after being charged. Your attorney can advise you of your rights, and represent you before the DMV and in court.
How Can I Get My License Back After a DUI in CT?
Generally, you can get your license back after a DUI in CT. In most cases, this is possible even if you have 3 or more DUIs. However, you may be required to install an interlock ignition device (IID) in your vehicle for a period of time.
The process of getting your driver’s license back after a DUI suspension starts with submitting an application to have your driving privileges restored at the end of your suspension period. You should have received a suspension notice in the mail. If you did not, you can contact the DMV directly to request information.
To get your license back after 1 or 2 DUI convictions, you will also need to pay a $175 fee. You will also have to pay a $100 fee for the installation of an IID. These fees must be paid in order to get your driver’s license back.
Importantly, you should not start driving until you have heard back from the DMV. You can also check your license status online through the DMV website. If you drive before your license has been officially restored, then it could lead to charges for driving on a suspended license.
In addition, you will need to make sure that you have valid car insurance in accordance with Connecticut law. Your insurance company will have already been notified of your DUI conviction. Your car insurance premium will likely increase significantly and will remain high for several years after a DUI conviction. Even though it will be more expensive, you must maintain car insurance in order to legally operate a vehicle in the state of Connecticut.
The process for getting your license back after 3 or more DUI convictions in Connecticut is a bit different. As noted above, if you are convicted of 3 or more DUI/OUIs, your CT driver’s license will be permanently revoked (rather than suspended). After 2 years, you can seek reinstatement.
The process to get your license back after 3 DUIs is a bit more involved. Drivers in this situation are required to go to CT license restoration hearings. However, before the hearing can be scheduled, you will have to meet and submit proof of the following:
- A background check with drug or alcohol convictions within the past 2 years
- Completed substance abuse treatment program
- Examination by a physician that concludes you do not have a drug or alcohol problem
In some cases, you may also be required to complete a driver retraining course.
After you have fulfilled these requirements, the DMV will schedule a hearing. At this hearing, your Stamford DUI defense attorney will argue to the DMV hearing officer that you are a suitable candidate for license restoration. Your lawyer will typically prepare you to testify and arrange for other character witnesses and reference letters to be submitted on your behalf. The goal of this hearing is to prove to the hearing officer that you are not at risk of committing another DUI offense.
After the hearing, the hearing officer will issue a written decision within 90 days. If they find it in your favor, then you will be eligible to apply for license reinstatement. If they rule against you, then you can usually reapply within 1 year.
Importantly, even if you get your license back after 3 or more DUI convictions, you will be required to have installed an IID in your vehicle for the rest of your life. After 15 years, you may apply to the DMV to have this condition removed.
Getting your license back after a suspension or revocation is not automatic. You still have to meet the conditions to have your license reinstated, or in the case of a revocation, you must convince a hearing officer that you have made a change in your life. If you are facing DUI charges or have been convicted of a DUI, contact a Connecticut DUI defense lawyer as soon as possible.
Dealing with a DUI License Suspension or Revocation? We Can Help.
A conviction for operating under the influence doesn’t just mean steep fines or possible jail time. It also will result in the loss of your driving privileges for 45 days, or longer for 3 or more DUI convictions. To get your license back, you will have to take affirmative steps with the CT DMV.
The Sills Law Firm aggressively advocates for clients who have been charged with all sorts of criminal offenses, including DUI/OUI. We take a proactive approach to criminal defense, working hard to help our clients get their charges reduced or dismissed whenever possible. For help getting your license back or to schedule a free consultation with a Connecticut DUI defense lawyer, give us a call at (866) 971-5841 or fill out our online contact form.