Charged with a DUI in Hartford? – Call a Hartford Criminal Defense Lawyer Near You at (866) 971-5795 for a FREE Consultation!
The highway patrol officers of Connecticut are notorious for seeking out anyone who might have a hint of alcohol in their systems and pulling them over to secure driving under the influence (DUI) arrest. The legal limit for civilian drivers is a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or greater, but some DUI arrests can be made even when the BAC count is lower. No matter the reported BAC of the driver, it is possible that their driver’s license will be automatically suspended just days after the arrest. Action must be taken to stop it.
Have you been arrested for or charged with a DUI in Hartford? Do not hesitate to contact the Hartford DUI Lawyers The Sills Law Firm and our Hartford DUI lawyers in Hartford. With our 20+ years of total legal experience focused on criminal defense work, you can feel confident that your case is in good hands and that it will move along as quickly as possible.
Aspects of DUI laws and cases we can assist with include:
- License suspension
- DMV hearings
- Chemical BAC tests
- Field sobriety test challenges
- Multiple DUI
- Out-of-state DUI
The details of your case can be straightforward or complex and we can still manage it without breaking a sweat. Arm yourself with a legal defense team that really cares about your future and never backs down from the opposition.
Call (866) 970-9818 today to speak with our Hartford DUI lawyers.
Penalties for DUI Arrest in Hartford, CT
A single DUI conviction in Connecticut can bring about severe penalties. When deciding upon punishments, the criminal justice system will examine your past criminal and driving record. Any convictions for other DUIs, or possibly even vehicle-related crimes, could massively escalate the penalties you face if convicted again. The top priority of our Hartford DUI attorneys at The Sills Law Firm is doing everything in our power to reduce or eliminate your charges or sentencing.
A typical DUI conviction can include these penalties and more:
- License suspension
- High fines
- Lengthy jail time
- Many hours of community service
- Mandatory ignition interlock device (IID)
As mentioned previously, there are situations in which the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) can suspend your license before you are even convicted. Depending on the circumstances of your arrest, merely the act of being arrested for a suspected DUI can trigger an administrative per se suspension.
If this is the case, you have just 7 days to contact the DMV and request a hearing, during which you can challenge the automatic suspension of your license. Failure to do so will trigger the suspension 30 days after your arrest, regardless of any ongoing or concluded criminal proceedings. Urgency is crucial if you want to hold onto your freedoms.
Can You Fight a CT DUI Charge in Hartford?
When you are charged with a DUI/OUI in Connecticut, you may be led to believe that you have no choice but to plead guilty and take whatever consequences may come. In reality, it is possible to defend against DUI charges – with the help of an experienced Hartford drunk driving defense attorney.
There are numerous possible defenses to a DUI charge. For example, if your case is not based on a positive chemical breath or blood test, your attorney may be able to argue that you weren’t actually under the influence while driving. There are many reasons why a person might have bloodshot, watery eyes, be unsteady on the feet, or drive poorly.
Alternatively, a skilled DUI lawyer in Hartford, CT may be able to argue that a positive breath or blood test was faulty in some way. Prosecutors tend to rely heavily on the results of a chemical test (such as a breathalyzer). However, there are many factors that can affect the reliability of these machines, from faulty calibration to improper test administration to certain medications and medical conditions.
There are even potential legal defenses to a DUI/OUI charge in Connecticut. Just as with any other criminal case, the police are required to abide by both the U.S. and Connecticut Constitutions – such as the 4th Amendment. If they violate the law in some way – such as by pulling you over illegally or running an improper DUI checkpoint – then your Hartford criminal defense lawyer could have the case dismissed entirely.
While each case is different, you should be aware that you are never required to plead guilty to a DUI charge. A DUI conviction carries serious consequences that can affect your life for years. Before you agree to anything, you should schedule a free consultation with a Hartford DUI defense lawyer.
Hartford DUI Lawyers with Unparalleled Experience & Knowledgeability
When it comes to protecting your rights and driving privileges, look no further than The Sills Law Firm. Attorney Sills is an esteemed member of the National Advocacy for DUI Defense, which requires its members to exemplify the highest comprehension of DUI law and conduct their DUI defense cases to the utmost ethical standards. We have the ability, talent, and know-how to use evidence of all sorts to your advantage, from testimonies to police reports. In the end, we are not satisfied until we land you the best-case result possible.
If you are facing DUI charges in Hartford, we can help. Reach out to The Sills Law Firm today for a free case evaluation by calling 866-970-9818 or filling out our online contact form.
Can I Get a DUI in Connecticut Even If I’m Not Above the Legal Limit?
Yes. In Connecticut, you can get a DUI if your BAC is above the legal limit (.08% for adults aged 21 or older) OR if you operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. Even if you have a low BAC, you can still be charged with a DUI in Connecticut if a law enforcement officer claims that your ability to drive was impaired by drugs or alcohol. This includes prescription and over-the-counter drugs.
You don’t have to simply plead guilty to a DUI. A Hartford DUI defense lawyer can help you achieve the best possible outcome for your case. Call The Sills Law Firm to schedule a free consultation.
Is a DUI a Felony or a Misdemeanor in Connecticut?
In most cases, DUIs are charged as misdemeanors in Connecticut. However, if you have at least 1 prior DUI conviction within the past 10 years, then you could be charged with a felony DUI. A felony DUI comes with far more serious consequences, and you will have a felony conviction on your criminal record.
Any DUI conviction carries stiff penalties, including the potential for jail time, a driver’s license suspension, and steep fines and fees. If you have been charged with DUI/OUI in Connecticut, you can’t afford to not have a skilled Hartford drunk driving defense lawyer. Reach out to The Sills Law Firm today to schedule a free case evaluation with a member of our legal team.