Traffic Ticket Lawyers with 20+ Years Experience
Because distracted driving has become a huge safety concern throughout the country, Connecticut has joined the majority of other U.S. states in making cell phone use illegal while driving. This includes reading or writing text messages, scrolling through apps, and making phone calls with a handheld device. Although common, this moving violation should be taken seriously. If you have been pulled over and ticketed for allegedly using a cell phone while driving, it may be in your best interests to speak with a lawyer with experience fighting traffic infractions. Contact The Sills Law Firm to discuss your potential defense options.
CALL US TODAY AT (860) 524-8118 TO SPEAK WITH A CELL PHONE TICKET LAWYER.
Penalties for Using a Cell Phone While Driving in Connecticut
The penalties for talking on a cell phone while driving are:
- First offense: $125 fine
- Second offense: $250
- Third or subsequent offense: $400
The penalties fortexting while driving are:
- First offense: $100 fine
- Second offense: $150
- Third or subsequent offense: $200
For teen drivers who are caught using a cell phone or texting while driving, the penalties are more severe and include license suspension. In order to get their license back, they will have to pay a license restoration fee and court fines in addition to the fine for the citation. If your child has received a citation, take action to protect their driving privileges by calling us as soon as possible.
Consult our Traffic Infraction Lawyers Today
The Connecticut traffic attorneys at The Sills Law Firm may be able to help you contest your ticket and avoid the associated penalties. Contact us today to discuss your case and any potential defenses with a member of our team. With more than 20+ years of combined legal experience, our attorneys are seen as leaders in the field of criminal defense, DUI, and traffic offenses in Connecticut.
Fill out an online consultation form to request your free case review.