Getting arrested for a DUI/OUI in Connecticut is associated with negative consequences. Not only can a first-time conviction result in a maximum jail sentence of six months (with a mandatory minimum sentence of two days), a fine of up to $1,000, and license suspension for at least six months, but also a permanent criminal record which can make it difficult to obtain employment, apply for colleges, find housing, and take advantage of life’s opportunities.
Fortunately, it is possible to get a DUI pleaded down to a “wet reckless” charge. Although there isn’t a specific statute regarding a wet-reckless plea in Connecticut, there are no laws which prohibit plea bargains in drunk driving cases.
Your criminal defense attorney may obtain a wet reckless if one or more of the following circumstances is true:
- Your DUI charge is a first-time offense
- Your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) after testing is at or near the legal limit
- There are issues regarding the legality of the traffic stop leading to your arrest
- There are issues regarding the results of your field sobriety test
- There are other weaknesses in the prosecution’s case against you
Wet reckless is a conviction for reckless driving which involves alcohol. The main benefit of obtaining a reckless driving conviction instead of a DUI is because a reckless driving conviction results in less severe penalties. A first offense for reckless driving is a class D misdemeanor, which carries a jail sentence of up to 30 days, a maximum fine of $300, and license suspension for up to three months. These penalties are significantly less severe compared to a DUI conviction.
In addition to plea bargaining for a reduction in your charge, your lawyer can also seek a plea deal for a reduced sentence. For example, if your attorney knew that your sentence would be in the low end of the penalty range, he/she could request a plea deal from the prosecution to help you avoid serving the maximum penalties.
Keep in mind, the main goal of a criminal defense attorney is to get your entire case dismissed. Each element in a DUI charge needs to be proven beyond a reasonable doubt. If all elements present some form of reasonable doubt, the case must be dismissed. If there are technical issues regarding your arrest, your lawyer can determine them. Without advice from a skilled attorney, you run the risk of losing your case without knowing the issues which can allow you to win.
At The Sills Law Firm, our Connecticut criminal defense attorneys can assess your case, determine your available legal options, figure out if there are any weaknesses in the prosecution’s case, and develop a strong defense strategy to obtain the most favorable outcome. With more than 20+ years of collective legal experience, we understand what it takes to either get your entire case dismissed or your charges and/or penalties reduced.
If you have been arrested for a DUI in Connecticut, contact us and schedule a free consultation today. Do not hesitate to speak with our experienced and skilled legal team today.