In early February, the Connecticut General Assembly began its legislative session, opening a new window of opportunity for the legalization and regulation of marijuana in the state. While marijuana legislature is in the pipeline, and more than 60% of residents are in favor of legalization, recreational marijuana is still illegal in Connecticut.
Current Marijuana Laws
Medical marijuana has been legal in Connecticut since 2012, but recreational marijuana is not. The state has also decriminalized the possession of small amounts of recreational marijuana, meaning no prison time or criminal record for first-time possession of a small amount. However, age, amount and intent make the consequences much more severe.
- Less than 1/2 oz. (first offense): Maximum fine of $150
- Less than 1/2 oz. (subsequent offense): Maximum fine of $500
- 1/2 – 4 oz. (first offense): A maximum of 1 year in jail and a fine of $1,000
- 1/2 – 4 oz. (subsequent offense): A maximum of 5 years in jail and a fine of $3,000
- More than 4 oz. (first offense): A maximum of 5 years in jail and a fine of $2,000
- More than 4 oz. (subsequent offense): A maximum of 10 years in jail and a fine of $5,000
If you’re under the age of 21, you can face all of the consequences above, as well as a 60-day driver’s license suspension, similar to the existing penalty for possessing alcohol. Additionally, selling and growing marijuana can result in stricter punishments.
A first time offense of selling below 1 kilogram of marijuana can lead to a fine of up to $25,000 and up to 7 years in prison, while growing any amount of weed is a felony, resulting in 5 to 15 years in prison.
At The Sills Law Firm, our Connecticut drug crimes attorneys are ready to defend you, whether you are arrested for a personal amount of marijuana or enough to make officers believe there was an intent to sell. With over 24 years of combined experience, our team is ready to provide the solid defense you need.