Call To Set Up Your Free Consultation 844.913.7747

Hit & Run in Connecticut

A “hit-and-run accident” occurs when one driver flees the scene of a collision without exchanging information with other parties involved in the crash, as required by Connecticut law. The offense is also known as “evading responsibility” in the state.

Although an arrest is not made at the scene, there are several ways the police can identify and arrest a suspected hit-and-run driver. For example, if the other driver involved in the accident takes a photo or memorizes the hit-and-run driver’s license plate, an officer will run the plate number and visit the home of car owner.

However, if the other driver doesn’t know the hit-and-run driver’s license plate number, law enforcement officials can still interview witnesses or view footage from surveillance cameras to track down the offending vehicle and driver. The police will verify if a vehicle is part of a hit-and-run accident by determining if the damage matches the other driver’s vehicle damage.

On the other hand, if a law enforcement official notices a person attempting to leave the scene of a crash, they will often immediately pull over the individual. Additionally, they may notify another officer to pull the suspected hit-and-run driver over.

Evading responsibility in Connecticut can either be charged as a misdemeanor or felony offense, depending on the circumstances of the accident. If a hit-and-run accident involves any type of damage to another persons’ property or a non-serious physical injury (e.g. bruises, whiplash, etc.), it is a misdemeanor that carries a maximum one-year jail term and a fine not exceeding $600. If a hit-and-run accident involves a serious physical injury (e.g. broken bones, disfigurement, paralysis, etc.), then it is a felony that is punishable by a prison sentence of up to ten years and a fine no more than $10,000.

Furthermore, a conviction for this crime can lead to other serous consequences. The DMV will suspend a hit-and-run driver’s license for up to one year for a first offense, while his/her auto insurance company will either significantly increase the driver’s insurance premium or terminate coverage altogether.

If you have been accused of causing a hit-and-run accident and leaving the scene in Connecticut, our legal team at Tomeo Sills, LLC can protect your rights and future. We can investigate your case, collect evidence, and figure out whether there are weaknesses in the prosecution’s case or if the police violated your constitutional rights during the investigation. We also know how to property defend against a hit-and-run charge.

If you wish to discuss your case with an experienced criminal defense lawyer, contact us today at and request a free consultation. Get more than six decades of legal experience on your side immediately!