Call To Set Up Your Free Consultation 844.913.7747

Superior Court Geographic Area (GA) Designations And Town

The cases most criminal law attorneys handle are in the GA Court system. These Courts are designated from GA-1 to GA-23 and depending upon the town you were arrested in you will be ordered to make your appearance in one of the designated GA Courts. For instance, if you are arrested in the towns of Darien, Greenwich or Stamford your court appearances will be at the Geographic Area No. 1 Court located at Stamford, 123 Hoyt Street, Stamford, CT 06905. You have to also remember that the Geographic Area (GA) Courts are different from the Judicial District Courts although in some Court Houses the two are in the same building.

Most times when arrested for a Motor Vehicle Violation or a Criminal Charge, the designated Court for you to appear in will be written on your Misdemeanor Summons and/or your Bond Release Papers.

As a general rule your case will remain in the same Court House until the matter is disposed of. However, there are some cases that will be transferred to the Judicial District (JD) Court but that will depend upon the severity of the charges against you and some other administrative reasons. If this applies to you the prosecutor, the Judge and your attorney will advise you.

So, for now, if you want to know where you have to go to Court check your misdemeanor summons or your bond release papers.

I have provided a list of the Geographic Area Courts beginning with Geographic Area (GA) 1. I have listed the addresses for you along with the towns in Connecticut that each GA Court serves.


Geographic Area No. 1 at Stamford – 123 Hoyt Street, Stamford, CT 06905

This court serves the towns of Darien, Greenwich and Stamford

Geographic Area No. 2 at Bridgeport – 172 Golden Hill Street, Bridgeport, CT 06604

This court serves the towns of Bridgeport, Easton, Fairfield, Monroe, Stratford and Trumbull

Geographic Area No. 3 at Danbury – 146 White Street, Danbury, CT 06810

This court serves the towns of Bethel, Brookfield, Danbury, New Fairfield, Newton, Redding, Ridgefield and Sherman

Geographic Area No. 4 at Waterbury – 400 Grand Street, Waterbury, CT 06702

This court serves the towns of Middlebury, Naugatuck, Prospect, Southbury, Waterbury, Watertown, Wolcott and Woodbury

Geographic Area No. 5 at Derby – 106 Elizabeth Street, Derby, CT 06418

This court serves the towns of Ansonia, Beacon Falls, Derby, Orange, Oxford, Seymour, and Shelton

Geographic Area No. 7 at Meriden – 54 West Main Street, Meriden, CT 06451

This court serves the towns of Cheshire, Hamden, Meriden, North Haven and Wallingford

Geographic Area No. 9 at Middletown – 1 Court Street, Middletown, CT 06457-3377

This court serves the towns of Chester, Clinton, Cromwell, Deep River, Durham, East Haddam, East Hampton, Essex, Haddam, Killingworth, Middlefield, Middletown, Old Saybrook, Portland and Westbrook

Geographic Area No. 10 at New London – 112 Broad Street, New London, CT 06320

This court serves the towns of East Lyme, Groton, Ledyard, Lyme, New London, North Stonington, Old Lyme, Stonington and Waterford

Geographic Area No. 11 at Danielson – 120 School Street, Danielson, CT 06239

This court serves the towns of Ashford, Brooklyn, Canterbury, Chaplin, Eastford, Hampton, Killingly, Plainfield, Pomfret, Putnam, Scotland, Sterling, Thompson, Windham and Woodstock

Geographic Area No. 12 at Manchester – 410 Center Street, Manchester, CT 06040

This court serves the towns of East Hartford, Glastonbury, Manchester, Marlborough and South Windsor

Geographic Area No. 13 at Enfield – 111 Phoenix Avenue, Enfield, CT 06082

This court serves the towns of East Ganby, East Windsor, Enfield, Granby, Simsbury, Suffield, Windsor and Windsor Locks

Geographic Area No. 14 at Hartford – 101 Lafayette Street, Hartford, CT 06106

This court serves the towns of Avon, Bloomfield, Canton, Farmington, Hartford and West Hartford

Geographic Area No. 15 at New Britain – 20 Franklin Square, New Britain, CT 06051

This court serves the towns of Berlin, New Britain, Newington, Rocky Hill and Wethersfield

Geographic Area No. 17 at Bristol – 131 North Main Street, Bristol, CT 06010

This court serves the towns of Bristol, Burlington, Plainville, Plymouth and Southington

Geographic Area No. 18 at Torrington – 50 Field Street, Torrington, CT 06790

This court serves the towns of Barkhamsted, Bethlehem, Bridgewater, Canaan, Colebrook, Cornwall, Goshen, Hartland, Harwinton, Kent, Litchfield, Morris, New Hartford, New Milford, Norwalk, North Canaan, Roxbury, Salisbury, Sharon, Thomaston, Torrington, Warren, Washington and Winchester (Winsted)

Geographic Area No. 19 at Rockville – 20 Park Street, Rockville, CT -06066

This court serves the towns of Andover, Bolton, Columbia, Coventry, Ellington, Hebron, Mansfield, Somers, Stafford, Tolland, Union, Vernon and Willington

Geographic Area No. 20 at Norwalk – 17 Belden Avenue, Norwalk, CT 06850

This court serves the towns of New Canaan, Norwalk, Weston, Westport and Wilton

Geographic Area No. 21 at Norwich – 1 Courthouse Square, Norwich, CT 06360

This court serves the towns of Bozrah, Colchester, Franklin, Griswold, Lebanon, Lisbon, Montville, Norwich, Preston, Salem, Sprague and Voluntown

Geographic Area No. 22 at Milford – 14 West River Street, Second Floor, Milford, CT 06460

This court serves the towns of Milford and West Haven

Geographic Area No. 23 at New Haven – 121 Elm Street, New Haven, CT 06510

This court serves the towns of Bethany, Branford, East Haven, Guilford, Madison, New Haven, North Branford and Woodbridge