The Fines & Court Costs Behind DUI

How Much Can You Expect to Pay?

If you have been arrested and charged with DUI, there will be no avoiding the considerable costs associated with the legal process. In fact, the national average cost of a first-time low BAC DUI charge is approximately $12,500. There will be court fees, fines, probationary costs, and more. In addition to this, if your DUI charge is more serious, such as a felony, or it is not your first DUI charge, the costs may increase even further. The minimum fine for a first offense DUI is $500, $2,000 for a second DUI offense, and $4,000 for a third DUI offense. Put simply, it is not cheap to go through these situations.

Some of the costs that are associated with defending a DUI charge include:

  • Court costs
  • Fines
  • Increased fees for multiple DUIs
  • Attorney Fees
  • Expert witnesses
  • Court-ordered classes
  • Travel expenses

Concerned about DUI fines? Learn more during a free consultation: (844) 913-7747

Social Costs Associated with a DUI

Aside from the up-front and future financial costs, there are also numerous social costs to a DUI that must be considered. Married individuals who have children may find the economic hardship to be very taxing on their personal relationships, and may not be able to withstand it. Husbands and wives may divorce, creating child support and custody issues. The social costs can be astronomical, and sometimes even debilitating as people try to recover from the lost income, lost employment, and expenses associated with a DUI.

Connecticut DUI Lawyers Working to Keep Financial Costs as Low as Possible

If you have been charged with DUI, one of your primary concerns will be keeping expenses as low as possible. Our Connecticut DUI attorneys at Tomeo Sills, LLC understand this concern, and can focus our efforts on helping you keep your freedom, reputation, and as much of your finances as possible.

Please don’t hesitate to contact our office to become better informed.