Driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol could get you arrested
in the state of Connecticut if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC)
is 0.08%. However, if you are a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) driver,
you can get arrested with a BAC of 0.04%. Penalties for DUIs are fairly
severe, mostly as a deterrent for repeat offenses. As a commercial driver,
you will likely face even more stringent punishment.
If you are convicted of a DUI, the state Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
can disqualify or suspend your commercial driver’s license (CDL)
for major offenses, one of which is having a BAC of 0.04% or refusing
to take a breath or blood test to determine BAC.
If this is your 1st violation, your CDL will be disqualified for 1 year (3 years if you were
transporting hazardous materials). If it was your 2nd violation, your CDL will be disqualified for life. You may be eligible
for CDL reinstatement after 10 years, however.
The biggest problem with CDL qualification is that all CMV drivers require
a CDL to drive for a living. Without the license, you would either need
to commit another crime or find an alternative job. Finding a temporary
position might be possible for a 1-year suspension, but any longer is
intolerable to most employers.
If you’re facing CDL disqualification, don’t put your livelihood
at risk. Call one of our skilled Connecticut criminal defense attorneys
today. Tomeo Sills, LLC has been helping people defend their rights and
freedom for 45 years. Our attorneys have handled thousands of cases, both
simple and complex. Let us see what we can do for your case.
Contact us at (844) 913-7747 or fill out our online form to schedule a
conversation with us today. We look forward to speaking with you about
the details of your situation.