Connecticut is one of only eight states that allows car passengers to drink
from an open container of alcohol while on the road,
but a driver absolutely cannot. What happens if you, as the driver, are pulled over and the police find
open bottles and cans of alcohol all around your car? Can you get a DUI?
No, you cannot be charged with a DUI simply for having open containers
of alcohol in your car.
As long as your BAC is under .08, open containers of alcohol
in the car are completely legal in Connecticut.
Is Against the Law?
It is illegal to drink any alcoholic beverage while
operating a motor vehicle:
- On a public road
- On a road of a specially chartered municipal association or of a fire,
sewer, or other special district
- In a parking area for 10 cars or more
- On a private road on which a speed limit has been established according to law
- On any school property
Penalties include a fine of up to $500, imprisonment for up to 3 months,
or both. Passengers, on the other hand, are free to consume alcohol in
all the situations listed above.
Under Connecticut law, anyone under the age of 21 driving a motor vehicle
in which a police officer finds any alcoholic beverages, open or sealed,
is subject to a 60-day license revocation. The only way someone under
21 can drive with alcohol in the car is if (1) they are accompanied by
a parent or guardian over 21 or (2) they are over 18 and are a state liquor
Call Our DUI Lawyers Today
If you were arrested for drinking and driving or with open containers in
your car, immediately contact our
Connecticut DUI attorneys at Tomeo Sills, LLC. Whether this is your first time being arrested for
drinking and driving or you are a repeat offender, we can assist you with
your DUI matter.
Call (844) 913-7747 or contact us online
for a free consultation.