Connecticut’s laws for drinking and driving are different for commercial
vehicle operators compared
to its slightly less stringent laws for those driving passenger vehicles.
While the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) for non-commercial drivers
is .08%, this limit is reduced to .04% for
commercial vehicle drivers.
Those with a commercial driver’s license face disqualification from
driving a commercial motor vehicle for a year if he or she:
Had a BAC of .04% while driving a commercial vehicle,
Had a BAC of .08% while driving any kind of vehicle,
Refused a BAC test while driving any kind of vehicle,
Has been convicted of a DUI
Commercial drivers who commit two or more offenses, such as a
DUI, risk a permanent ban on driving commercial vehicles, though they may
be able to get their license back if they meet certain conditions. One
can reinstate a commercial driver’s license after 10 years if they
voluntarily enroll in and successfully complete a substance abuse treatment
program that is established and operated by the Department of Mental Health
and Addiction Services, operated through a licensed substance abuse treatment
facility, or an equivalent program offered out-of-state.
For first offenses, a commercial DUI may be penalized with the loss of
your license for one year and a 90-day suspension on your vehicle.
Tomeo Sills, LLC, our Connecticut DUI lawyers have an in-depth knowledge of how to handle
a wide range of DUI cases, including those involving commercial drivers.
We have 45 years of collective experience in this field and the invaluable
resources one would find at a large law firm with the personalized attention
of a small firm. Do not let a DUI ruin your career or future.
Call us today to set up a free consultation at (844) 913-7747.