How Long Do Juvenile Crimes Stay on a Criminal Record?

Posted By Tomeo Sills, LLC || 18-Aug-2017

If your child was accused and convicted of a crime, you may be worried about the charge’s effect on his or her future. In the state of Connecticut, juvenile court records are eligible for expungement depending on the situation. Expungement is the sealing of criminal records, so any potential landlords, employers, and licensing agencies will never be aware these records existed. In most states, juvenile court records are automatically expunged after a certain number of years. However, in Connecticut, it’s a little different.

Many juvenile offenders will have to ask the court to have their record “erased.” Erasure of a criminal record means the paperwork isn’t destroyed, but it is removed from agency, institution, and official files. After erasure, it will be as though your child was never arrested. However, if a court finds it is in your child’s best interest, it can disclose he or she had an erased court record. Likewise, whether or not it was erased, your child’s record can always be viewed by the Connecticut Department of Corrections or Bureau of Pardons and Parole.

If your child was never convicted, the record would be erased immediately and automatically with no petition required. Likewise, if a nolle prosequi (do not prosecute) is entered in your child’s case, or the case is continued without any prosecution or disposition, the record will be erased automatically after 13 months.

If your child was convicted, however, the court might allow a juvenile record to be erased if your child meets the following conditions:

  • At least 2 years have passed since your child was discharged (4 years if convicted of a serious juvenile offense)
  • No subsequent juvenile or adult criminal proceedings can be pending against your child
  • Your child has not be convicted of an act that would be classified as an adult misdemeanor or felony after being discharged

Likewise, if your child was convicted as a youthful offender, his or her youthful offender record will be erased automatically when he or she turns 21 unless your child has been convicted of a felony since the time he or she was judged a youthful offender.

If you’re curious about how erasure works, or you would like help beginning the process, don’t hesitate to call us. Our skilled Connecticut criminal defense attorneys are dedicated to helping people defend their rights and freedom. Let us assist you with your case. We have more than 40 years of collective legal experience to offer you and your child. Tell us about your situation in a free case consultation.

Call us at (844) 913-7747 or fill out our online form to schedule your free case review today.

Blog Home